And all I wanted was some Sweet Tea (Ben)

So my time at “Safety Town” as a 4 year old paid off after all.

One of my first experiences with law, safety, and phone numbers came from a place called “Safety Town” as a child in Sandusky, Ohio. I was taught how to call 911 and was forced to memorize my home phone number (this was before cell phones were used, naturally). That was tough work for a thick-headed kid.

So I’m thankful that experience paid off and that I’ve finally gotten to dial 911 for the first time. But that is just me looking at the bright side.

Last night, after dropping off a guy who I had taken to a Brecksville-Broadview High School Lacross game (good game guys, you’ll get ’em next time) I found myself near a place I frequent: Chic-fil-A. Not wanting to miss a chance for a cup of Sweet Tea happiness, I pulled through. After being pleasantly served (thanks again, Jessica and Daniel- you guys deserve a raise) I continued home down route 82 westbound. It was about 9:45 pm.

Suddenly, I heard a LOUD pop sound. Confused, my mind started running through the checklist of possibilities. Engine? No, the sound came from behind me. Rock? It sounded like it was on the roof… probably not. Hail? I mean… it IS spring. Weirder things have happened. I pulled into a shopping plaza 100 yards down the road and got out to survey the car. I didn’t know how to process what I saw.

It was at night, so in the darkness, I wondered if this could be a shot-out window. There was a pizza joint in the plaza, and one of the workers was kind enough to give me a second opinion. I called the police and 15 minutes later they were done searching my car and instead searching the neighborhood.

I’m no balistics guy, so if you are, let me know what you think. But the police said it was definitely from some sort of firearm. The highlight for me was when the deputy called me over: “Take a look at this!” he said. pointing his flashlight along what he explained to be the flight path of the projectile. “It was going straight for your head.”

So I’m sitting here today thankful that God has a plan for me that includes today (so far.) And I think you should remind yourself of the same thing.

It could have been some kid with a bb-gun. It could have been something else. Either way, I’ve learned that this window is called a “quarter glass,” K9 unit dogs bark¬†incessantly, and that your life could change in a hurry.

Wonder what God is up to…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And all I wanted was some Sweet Tea (Ben)

  1. Danielle says:

    WOAH! This is crazy Ben!! I’m so glad you’re alive or I would have bought that darn bridesmaid dress for nothing! ha But for real, I’m so glad God protected you.

  2. Danielle says:

    Oh my! Ben I am so glad that you are ok!

  3. Jon says:

    The excuses you make…

Leave a Reply

